Food Truck Nation

7 Jun

foodtrucks1

foodtruck2

foodtruck3

cornheaven

whiterabbit

lobsta truck

coolhaus

Since when did food trucks become so cool and popular? The Grilled Cheese Truck, Baby’s Badass Burgers, A Slice of New York, Chow Indiana Jones Truck, The Philly Lean, Cousins Maine Lobster, The Greasy Wiener, Sam Choy’s Pineapple Express, George’s Greek Truck, Kogi, Fishlips Sushi, The White Rabbit, Corn Heaven, The Lobsta Truck, and Cool Haus were all in downtown Los Angeles for lunch at the CAPG conference that I am attending. Besides the crazy lines, having food trucks cater the event was a nice surprise, considering how much I’ve been craving to try more of them and how rare it is that I’m actually able to catch and get something to eat from one of the “good ones.” Today I tried a few new food truck faves, the Lobsta Truck, Corn Heaven, White Rabbit, and Coolhaus (which I tried once before at Coachella). From the Lobsta truck, which was highly (and rightfully) recommended, I tried their delicious Lobsta Roll with Butter. I also had the “Oh Thank Heaven,” corn on the cob with butter and salt, from Corn Heaven and the Vegetarian Burrito (a flour tortilla, garlic rice, egg, cheese, and soy based “veggie meat” in a sweet, but spicy sauce) and slaw from the Filipino fusion truck, White Rabbit. For dessert, I couldn’t resist a Coolhaus cookie sand which with vanilla bean ice cream in between chocolate chip cookies. I wish I could have tried more trucks, but I was beyond stuffed. I was amazed at the amount of food coming out of these trucks and the amount of people inside of them. I realized during my meal and after all of the food I enjoyed, that I found the answer to my own question. Food trucks must have became cool and popular once the news spread that the food that comes (rather efficiently) out of these small restaurants on wheels is actually really good and crave-worthy. Whats your favorite food truck?

3 Responses to “Food Truck Nation”

  1. Vodka&Cupcakes June 21, 2013 at 9:57 pm #

    Food trucks are my weakness!!! Favorites are taco trucks!–found a pho one once too that was pretty awesome.

    • Sarah Frances June 22, 2013 at 3:48 pm #

      Pho truck!! Wow! I need to find one of those. Food trucks are awesome, any time I hear about them, I’m in!

      • Vodka&Cupcakes June 22, 2013 at 4:12 pm #

        It was good! Yeah the festivals are the best place to be. Glad to be following, if you get a chance please check out/follow my blog as well if you like it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

