Raving About Subic Bay and Gerry’s Grill

6 May

subic

gerrysgrill

gerrysdeli2

What do most people do to get out of town and away from the hustle and bustle, the noise, and the sea of grey concrete of a big city? One option would be to head to the beach, to see the blue ocean and a backdrop of lush greenery. Subic Bay offers just that nice charge of scenery, just two hours away from metro Manila, driving on a road full of one pay toll after another. That’s where (thanks to Jax’s Dad, Mr. R) Jax, Di, their husbands and relatives, and Lin and I went to enjoy the day to relax, hang out, and ride jet skis. After a few hours on the beach and in the ocean, we ordered Filipino food from Gerry’s Grill. I had a refreshing Filipino drink called Sago’t Gulaman, and we all shared Pancit Bihon, Kangkong Ala Pobre, Green Mango with Bagoong, Calamares, and Tuna Belly. I couldn’t be in the Philippines and not leave without having Halo Halo, so I took advantage of the opportunity to order this amazing dessert topped with Ube Ice Cream. While it is considered summer here in the Philippines, we all had fun in the sun like it was spring break.

6 Responses to “Raving About Subic Bay and Gerry’s Grill”

  1. Trrishy May 7, 2013 at 6:27 pm #

    I love Gerry’s grill! I used to eat there all the time when I lived in the Phils!!! Looks like such a fun time!

    • Sarah Frances May 8, 2013 at 12:35 am #

      This was my first time eating at Gerry’s Grill. I didn’t know you lived here!! Subic is always a little savior from the city. It was so much fun.

      • Trrishy May 8, 2013 at 4:34 am #

        I used to live in Makati in my late ninang’s condo when I was living in the Phils! I didn’t mean to say I lived in Subic. But they have Gerry’s grill all over Manila and it was one of my fave places to eat!

      • Sarah Frances May 11, 2013 at 4:57 am #

        I was inspired and ended up ordering pusit at the Shangri-La. OMG, it was heaven!

  2. Trrishy May 7, 2013 at 6:27 pm #

    Oh btw I used to order their sizzling pusit! So good, do they still have that on their menu?

    • Sarah Frances May 8, 2013 at 12:37 am #

      Good thing I took a picture of their menu! Yes, they do! Sizzling Pusit Ala Pobre. I should have turned to you for suggestions before I left!

Leave a Reply

