Craving Juk

3 May

juk

Isn’t it funny that when we’re feeling starved and scarfing down something that tastes phenomenal, sometimes, we don’t know if it is just THAT good, or if we are just THAT hungry? After a thirteen hour flight from Los Angeles, California to Seoul, Korea, I desperately needed to grab something to eat despite only having 15 minutes to get to the next gate to catch the last leg of my flight to Manila, Philippines. I was looking forward to eating Korean food since I had been anticipating an hour layover, but since waiting in line for and finally getting through the airport security checkpoint took over 45 minutes, that didn’t leave me much time for eating. On the plane, of the two meals and one snack served, there were no vegetarian options. So, I had to skip the ham sandwich snack and only ate the sides of the lunch and dinner offerings, which was kimchi with rice and a small serving of fruit. On the plane I was already running through a list in my mind of Korean food that I would want to order during my layover, but in reality, I found myself literally running through the airport, passed all of the Korean food that I wanted to order. Although I only had less than 10 minutes before boarding I couldn’t help but stop at a food court at the Shanghai Deli so I could order something to-go and eat on the plane. I ordered Juk, a Korean rice porridge, which I always crave, but hadn’t had in a while. I don’t know if it was just my cravings talking or my hunger, but the Juk was probably the best Juk I ever had. I was glad that I had stopped off despite being just in the knick of time to board, otherwise I would’ve only had one option on that 3 hour flight to Manila, kimchi with rice and a side of fruit.

4 Responses to “Craving Juk”

  1. DeDivahDeals May 4, 2013 at 8:39 pm #

    sounds delish despite it’s name – lol

    • Sarah Frances May 8, 2013 at 12:32 am #

      Haha! There are actually a lot of names for this dish: Lugaw (Filipino), Congee (Chinese), Bubur (Malay/Indonesian). In Korean, it’s Juk. But yes, it’s delish no matter what it’s called.

  2. Trrishy May 4, 2013 at 10:25 pm #

    Fun! Post some pics of the motherland on IG!

    • Sarah Frances May 8, 2013 at 12:33 am #

      🙂 I will try. I’ve been using my camera, so it’s been tough getting any good shots on my iphone to post. I usually use my iphone for food…

Leave a Reply

