Craving Porto’s Bakery

27 Apr

Porto's

portos

What do we call a seriously packed restaurant filled with people lined up to order food, drinks, cakes, and pastries at every single moment from open to close? That restaurant would be Porto’s Bakery & Cafe, where people are lined up everywhere we turn just to place an order from this Cuban restaurant in Glendale. After waiting in two different lines, I was able to sneak my way to the “cake line,” which was much shorter than the other lines to the counters to order. I needed desserts for a small get together at our house with friends, and Porto’s is always a hit! There are so many options that it’s almost impossible to decide what to chose, everything looks so incredibly mouthwatering. With some restraint, I ordered a Strawberry Shortcake and a dozen individual sweets including the Tiramisu, Carrot Cake, Triple Chocolate Mouse, Fruit Tart, something called the Banana Mille Fuille, and the most amazing dessert of all the Josephine (Senorita). I was helped by Stanley, who actually allowed me to order the cold sweets from a different counter in addition to my cake. I asked him what the most amazing thing was that I couldn’t leave without, and he suggested the Josephine describing it as a cake with layers of crispy puff pastry lined with custard and real whipped cream, finished with powdered sugar. I am so glad I asked him, it was ridiculously good! Everyone loved the strawberry shortcake as well. Like all cakes from Porto’s, the order was completely devoured. It’s no wonder Porto’s is always full of customers.

4 Responses to “Craving Porto’s Bakery”

  1. caroline April 28, 2013 at 3:08 pm #

    OMG why am I not there?!

    • Sarah Frances April 29, 2013 at 7:19 am #

      Haha, because once you are there, you won’t ever want to leave ! I didn’t mind the 20 minute wait to order, so much visual stimulation with the cakes and sweets… It’s like I died and went to pastry heaven.

  2. Trrishy April 28, 2013 at 11:16 pm #

    I was just on the phone with my tita who lives in LA and she was telling me about Portos. She bought a red velvet cake and said it was delish! Everything looks amazing!

    • Sarah Frances April 29, 2013 at 7:14 am #

      I haven’t had the red velvet yet.. I’m like a kid in a candy shop at Porto’s.. They need a warning sign about the addictive qualities in the pastries and cakes! You need to visit LA one of these days

Leave a Reply

