Motivashoenal Speaker

26 Apr

justdoit

What is it that allows us to dig deep and what pushes us accomplish goals that we set in our hearts and minds? Excuses like to make their way into pockets of our subconscious since this layer isn’t always in current focus or awareness, because why would we so desperately make an effort to say “I can’t?” That little critical voice that likes to take jabs, especially in our weakest states, constantly tries to convince us that we’re not good enough, or smart enough, or attractive enough, or that we’re not worthy of being happy, of feeling proud, or of receiving admiration.
Just as I was being sucked into a vacuum of negative sentiments, which started to lead to feelings of being overwhelmed, undeserving, and insecure, I put on my Liquid Lime Nike Free Run 3 sneakers and the direction of my thoughts made a complete 180. Right when I was lacing them up, I hear, “Where the hell have you been for the last three days? We gotta a lot of work to do! You better get on that treadmill right NOW and don’t stop until I say you can, we don’t have much time and we’ve got a lot of other things to do when you’re done running…” “Whoa! I missed you too,” I respond. While there are other shoes that can be effective cheerleaders with generic phrases like “get fired up,” “go, fight, win” or “yay, we’re number one,” sometimes what I really need is a good motivashoenal speaker who can, without the BS, tell me what’s real in order to get a job done. Throughout my run, I continue to hear words of optimism and enthusiasm, but mostly realism. “How we do anything is how we do everything, just finish what we set out to do today and we’ll feel great afterward.” About 70% of the way through, the doubt crept in and I thought maybe I can just finish the rest of the run tomorrow as I reach for the cool down button before I hear, “You better not touch that button or I’ll kick your ass with your own feet, don’t you test me!” Needless to say, I finished my run without stopping. Sometimes a healthy fear (of things like failure, or you know, getting beat up by shoes) is all it takes to achieve things great or small, not just in physical activity, but in life. Sometimes, it’s something else that motivates us, but whatever it is that moves us towards a healthy mindset and whatever it is we want to achieve or attain, as my Nikes always say, “Just do it!”

5 Responses to “Motivashoenal Speaker”

  1. tuesdayswithrachel April 26, 2013 at 4:45 pm #

    I always look forward to your posts!! These shoes are awesome on you. I was bummed to learn that the Nike Free Run’s just dont work for my feet 😦 I bought 2 really cute pairs and I kept getting shooting pains up the side of my legs from my feet. Looks like I will have to stick with Mizunos 😦

  2. Pretty Little Beauty Blog April 27, 2013 at 3:32 am #

    Those shoes are so cute! I’m an Asics girl they have done wonders for my running. I was using some Nike’s and they just didn’t go with my running style.

    • Sarah Frances April 27, 2013 at 4:25 am #

      Thanks!! i love them, these are my third pair… Asics are great shoes also. I have a high arch so the free runs have worked with my feet, but most shoes do.. My feet are pretty resilient, even w the most uncomfortable heels

      • Pretty Little Beauty Blog April 27, 2013 at 4:31 am #

        I wish mine were… my arch is weird sometimes it is too high and then other times it is pushing down on the shoe. How often do you go running?

      • Sarah Frances April 27, 2013 at 4:35 pm #

        I guess all shoes are different. I run at least 3 times a week.

Leave a Reply

