Coachella Craves

21 Apr

kogi

What can a festival goer consume while attending Coachella? With the tens of thousands that attend this annual 3 day festival, there are a lot of mouths to feed and a lot of dancing to fuel and plenty of vendors happy to supply the food and beverages to the hoards of hungry and thirty music lovers. The first night of the festival, we ordered from the Kogi food truck. While it’s supposed to be a big “LA thing,” I only get to eat at this food truck once a year at Coachella. My brother and bf love (and order) practically everything they offer, and the constant long line means there are a lot of people who agree with them. I had the tofu tacos, which I think are the only non-meat items on the menu. The Kogi truck is located in the back of the VIP section, which is located to the left of the main stage when facing it. The VIP wristbands give us access not only to better food options, but also offers easier access to the festival grounds, bathrooms with running water, shorter lines, seating, shade, and an overall contribution to an awesome Coachella experience.

organicflatbread

On the second night of the festival, we ordered from the Organic Flatbread stand. I had the all natural Tomato Sauce and 3 Cheese Flatbread, heated in a huge wood fired oven.

wickedkitchen

On the third night of the festival, we ordered from the Wicked Kitchen food truck. With names of dishes like Don’t Lose Youre Tempura, Totally Nood in Saigon, and Delhi-cious Chicken, with “Nom Nom Nom” written on the side of the truck, it definitely caught my attention. I ordered the I Pity The Tofu’l (Chinese Ma Po Tofu), which was Map inspired spicy chili tofu over jasmine rice, topped with a refreshing Thai basil slaw and a vegetable spring roll. This had to be my new favorite food truck at Coachella. The food was so good that it didn’t even need the (also) cleverly named sauces: Jalapeno Later, Bayou Butt Burner, and Willy Chilly Dilly Hot Sauce. My bf finished his bowl in what seemed like two seconds and when I asked my brother what he thought about his bowl that looked looked like it was licked clean he said, “I hated it.” I think a girl must have thought he was serious because she came up to my brother and asked if he wanted the garlic fries that she couldn’t finish.

deserts

Each night, I also couldn’t resist the sweets treats. I couldn’t say no to the churros and the coolhaus ice cream cookie food truck. The cookies are good just by themselves, the s’mores cookie was delish! But with ice cream, it’s even more of a treat. On the last night, we ordered a two story ice cream sandwich with chocolate chip cookies with vanilla and Nutella ice cream. While we were able to see Alex Clare, Social Distortion, Paul Oakenfold, Vampire Weekend, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, Wu-Tang Clan, and the Red Hot Chili Peppers on day three, there was still a lot of time in between sets that allowed for eating and drinking.

coachelladrinks

In addition to the bottles of water that are necessary while in the smoldering heat, there are also other beverage options like a green tea smoothie from the Coffee and Smoothie Stand, kombucha from the Vegetarian Stand, and a berry fruit smoothie from the Organic Vegetarian Stand. The berry smoothie was the only thing I ordered outside of the VIP section during my search for something that I had a few years ago at a previous Coachella fest. While on this search I told my brother what I’d been wanting, which was a tempeh wrap. He didn’t know what tempeh was, so based on his knowledge of the two things I love the most, he asked “Is that food or clothing?” Ha! It hadn’t even cross my mind that food and beverage aren’t the only things food goers can consume.

8 Responses to “Coachella Craves”

  1. FreeUrCloset April 23, 2013 at 4:56 pm #

    What a yummy post with the perfect churros and smoothies ending! My stomach is seriously rumbling ;p

    XOXO Nensi

    • Sarah Frances April 23, 2013 at 11:56 pm #

      I am missing my weekend already ! But it was a great weekend w a very happy ending πŸ™‚

  2. Eddie Two Hawks April 23, 2013 at 7:26 pm #

    The “Kogi” food trucks were just reviewed on Antony Bourdain’s new program. I watched with earnest as he talked about “Koreatown” in LA and those trucks. Sounded like great food. Would try it but live 1000’s of miles away. So you loved you it too?

    • Sarah Frances April 25, 2013 at 4:37 pm #

      Well, if you are ever not 1000’s of miles away, you should give Kogi a try πŸ˜‰ If you like music, people from all over the world attend Coachella. I’m no too far from LA but I really only get a chance to eat at the food trucks when in Indio for the music Festival. I only had the tofu tacos from Kogi and they are yummy! I also LOVE Korean food.

      • Eddie Two Hawks April 25, 2013 at 5:06 pm #

        Never tried it… but since seeing your review and Antony’s too I must say that I might have to fly out to LA just to have some….

      • Sarah Frances April 27, 2013 at 2:47 am #

        You won’t be disappointed!

  3. Dreams April 24, 2013 at 2:56 pm #

    What is a tempeh wrap?

Leave a Reply

