Craving & Savoring My Tofu House with My Brother

21 Mar

mytofuhouse

mytofuhouse2

Where can you get the best tofu soup in San Francisco? My Tofu House, which is where I went for lunch with my older brother, Stephen. I was craving to eat Korean cuisine, and especially craving to eat at this particular restaurant for sooo long, and was glad I finally had the opportunity to dine in with my brother while I was in town visiting. Like many Korean restaurants, banchan (side dishes) are set in the middle of the table to share, and are replaced if desired. These small side dishes of kimchi, bean sprouts, pickled cucumbers, fish slices, and spicy pickled radish come out before the meal, but can be enjoyed through out the meal. My brother ordered the Spicy Kimchi Tofu Soup and Bulgolgi (marinated beef), I ordered the Assorted Mushrooms Soft Tofu Soup with a medium level of spiciness, and we shared an order of the Seafood and Vegetable Bibimbap. Bibimbap is a signature Korean dish, and the variation we had was made with white rice, squid, shrimp, oyster, raw egg yolk, seaweed, and vegetables topped with a spicy sauce served steaming in a stone pot. The tofu soup is also served in stoneware, which keeps it hot the entire duration of the meal and which also allows the raw egg, that comes with the order, to cook once cracked and stirred into the soup. The redder the soup, the spicier, but no matter the level of spiciness, the temperature stays consistently hot! My brother and I devoured everything on the table, the food was so good. The diversity in cuisine, the authentic food, and the abundance of great restaurants in San Francisco are some of the things that I miss the most, second to my family and friends who live in SF of course. When I do finally get to take a trip to my hometown; however, my meals are only more appreciated and savored. I’m so happy that I got to share an awesome meal (and spend the day) with my brother, who definitely has an appetite as big as mine (if not bigger).

2 Responses to “Craving & Savoring My Tofu House with My Brother”

  1. shiroknowes March 22, 2013 at 9:14 pm #

    That looks delicious it’s a pity that you don’t live around the corner or else I came every day along !

    • Sarah Frances March 23, 2013 at 4:29 pm #

      🙂 yes, it is a pity. The next best thing is sharing our food experiences, thanks for stopping by and commenting.

Leave a Reply

