Don’t Leave Me Tongue-Tied

19 Mar

tonguetied

What do we do when we see some one unexpected… but the kind of some one that isn’t necessarily the type that we wanted to see unexpectedly? You know, the some one that we thought we’d actually never see again, ever? Most of the time, I’m so oblivious to the people around me, but it’s just my luck that I end up running into some guy at my gym that I dated ages ago. I am wearing my Nike Free Run 2 iD Running Shoes that I customized in navy blue and hot pink with my nick name “Sarah Face” on the left and right tongues of my iD sneakers. As I am running on the treadmill at the gym, I see a guy walk in that looks like “Andrew,” and guess what, it IS Andrew. What the hell is he doing here? He was interning in San Francisco when I met him, but wasn’t he supposed to be living in some other country, and not working out at MY gym? Crap, what do I do, what do I do? Damn, I have 1/4 of a 4 mile run left… “Be cool, finish the run, slow to a jog, pull your hat down, pretend like you didn’t see him, and then walk inconspicuously to the bathroom,” my sneakers advise. Good plan, but it’s too late, I saw him in my peripheral see me and and as I finish my run and try to walk to the women’s lounge, he walks over in my direction and I can no longer avoid him. This is the one time I regret putting my name on my shoes, and my sneakers immediately respond with “Yeah right, like he’ll be looking at your feet to validate your identity because he will remember you by your name before um, your face?” My shoe are such smart alecks, but they are right. Andrew and I had a great few dates and things were going well until the time I realized I wasn’t ready to be in a serious relationship, but wasn’t really mature enough to give it to him straight. So I did the only thing a really young, really immature, conflict avoider knew how to do at the time and while in his apartment, I went into his phone, changed my contact information, and then got the hell out of there while he was in the bathroom getting ready. “Who the hell does that? Women are evil. That, or you had some really bad shoes advising you back then,” my shoes comment. Geeze, give me break, I immediately regretted it, ok? I made an impulse move at a weird moment and I panicked, I obviously couldn’t go back and explain what I had done when I had already left the building. Honestly, I don’t remember what shoes I was wearing at the time, but yes, I blame it all on them and maybe the cocktail I might have had earlier that night. It was another case of one more person contributing to the bad rap of of people dealing in relationships (or not) in their early twenties. Still, that explanation doesn’t change the circumstances at hand. “Sarah, is that you?” Andrew asks. Ok sneakers, give me something good, hurry… Silence… Perfect, now you guys are tongue-tied.

8 Responses to “Don’t Leave Me Tongue-Tied”

  1. jonathanochart March 19, 2013 at 2:55 pm #

    I feel like I run into someone I don’t want to run into unexpectedly every time I go out dancing over the weekend, haha. Glad to know I’m not the only one (;

    -Jonathan

    • Sarah Frances March 19, 2013 at 9:56 pm #

      Haha, it’s almost like its the universe telling you something 🙂 it happens a little too often than I’d like and it definitely is nice to know it’s not only me!

  2. runningonsober March 19, 2013 at 2:58 pm #

    So funny! I never would have thought about changing my info in someone’s phone–that’s actually pretty clever!

    I love those shoes too. I need to get some more running shoes, thinking of trying the Skechers GoRun2’s.

    Hope there’s a part II 🙂

    • Sarah Frances March 20, 2013 at 4:09 am #

      It’s funny now, back then, not do much… I swear by these shoes.. Part II is actually not very interesting, but there’s definitely more where that story comes from 😉

  3. lycly March 19, 2013 at 6:00 pm #

    Oh no! I always end up running into exactly who I don’t want to see at the worst moments. At least you had cute shoes on 🙂

  4. Trrishy March 20, 2013 at 7:04 pm #

    Lol that’s funny! So crazy how random things like that sneak up on you… I would hate to run into anyone I’ve dated in the past! Yikes!

  5. www.myadel.info May 18, 2013 at 4:29 pm #

    I believe that is one of the so much significant information for me.
    And i am glad studying your article. But want to remark on some normal things, The website style is great, the articles is in point of fact great : D.

    Good process, cheers

Leave a Reply

