50 Shades of Green: Chapter One

9 Mar

50shadesgreenjacket

fiftyshadesgreenjacket2

Chapter One: A Green Jacket

I scowl at myself in the mirror, damn hair. I try to comb it into submission, but by the looks of it, the only option I have is to put it up a ponytail. I head to Green Enterprises for an interview my roommate begged me to do for her with some industrial tycoon I have never heard of. As I pull up the the fancy building with GREEN HOUSE written in steel on the glass doors, I stand self-consciously thinking I should have borrowed of my roommate’s formal blazers. Instead I wore one of my many green jackets. “May I take your jacket?” asks an impeccably dressed blond. “Oh, please,” as I struggle out of it. I enter the office, accidentally falling on my hands and knees (which is where I coincidentally spend most of this book, figuratively, of course). I look up into the piercing green eyes of a young, smart, mega-wealthy, and the most handsome man to have ever graced God’s green earth. He made me super nervous the whole interview, which was filled with clever banter and awkward flirtation. As the interview draws to a close, surprisingly, Green walks me out and asks, “Did you have a coat?” I respond, “A jacket.”

Of her many green jackets, which one would you have chosen to wear?

Green Incognito Anorak by Audrey 3.1 from NastyGal.com, Cargo Jacket by Talulah from Aritzia, Faux Fur Trim and lined Jacket by Abercrombie & Fitch, Classic Surplus Jacket by Ecote from Urban Outfitters, Sweater Trench Coat by Mike and Chris, Corduroy zip-up jacket by Rubbish from a thrift store

6 Responses to “50 Shades of Green: Chapter One”

  1. Dreams March 10, 2013 at 1:23 am #

    The sweater trench by mike and Chris is my fave with the pink buttons. It’s soooo cute

    • Sarah Frances March 11, 2013 at 8:29 am #

      Thanks 🙂 I do love it, it’s been raining/drizzling lately, and it’s been perfect for the weather since it has a hood. Not very many brands make trenches in sweater material.

  2. FreeUrCloset March 10, 2013 at 5:23 am #

    In this scenario, def. the Mike and Chris 😉

    • Sarah Frances March 11, 2013 at 8:27 am #

      Yes, it’s one of my favorite jackets that, in khaki, was stolen when my car was broken into. I found the green on a major manhunt/obsession to replace it, and am glad I did 🙂

  3. Jocellyn March 12, 2013 at 3:24 am #

    I’m not sure if the quality is still the same, but during my Freshman year of highschool (soo…2005ish?) I bought a winter, fur-lined jacket from A&F for $200 that lasted me 5 years. I only really got rid of it because it was a tad tight and I got it in white and it was a little grungy. Very surprised since A&F, HCO, and AE can put out some stuff with poor quality.

    • Sarah Frances March 12, 2013 at 7:57 pm #

      I haven’t really shopped at A&F in a looong time, for me it’s been since 2002-2003ish so about 10 years. When I traveled from SoCal to San Francisco over the winter about 3 or 4 years ago, which I usually do to annually to see my parents, I forgot how cold it was and had to buy a jacket. This one from A&F was about $100 on sale, and I was going up to Tahoe that week, so it served me well. It’s in pretty good shape still, so I’m pretty happy w/ it, but you are probably right about everything else, I used to shop there a lot several years ago and virtually nothing from those years have stood the test of time lasting any longer than that. I think this jacket is the only thing I have in my closet from that brand.

Leave a Reply

