Wow Brow! Raving about Zooey Van Jones

16 Feb

zoeyvanjones

brows

If eyes are the windows of our souls, what are our brows? They must be the shutters, or the curtains, depending on if we’re looking from the outside in or the inside out… either way, they’re pretty important. Brows frame not only our eyes, but also our face, making everything look symmetrical and balanced. After years of over-plucking, over-waxing, over-threading, I learned to stay true to my brows and their natural shape. This meant finding trustworthy professionals that understand that when it comes to brows, missteps of over-anything can cost years of trying to correct botched jobs and possibly waiting for regrowth that may never ever happen. At Zooey Van Jones Brow Studio in Old Town Pasadena (http://www.zoeyvanjones.com/), a salon that specializes in full natural brows, all of the brow artists understand this philosophy and instead of completely trying to refashion our arches, they take time to listen to clients and also take the time to make recommendations, give explanations, and offer unique instructions on how to keeping brows looking great everyday. Mandy, my most recent artist was exceptionally helpful, giving me tips on how to comb my brows, how to fill them in, and how to maintain the shape with simple “clean-up techniques.” I appreciated the personal advise from Mandy, who didn’t suggest coming back every month, which makes one visit last several months (or more).

The products that I purchase from the studio that work great for me are the Vanity Mark Ultra Brow Powder in Blondie (https://clients.mindbodyonline.com/ASP/home.asp?studioid=14017) and the Tweezerman Brow Mousse (https://clients.mindbodyonline.com/ASP/home.asp?studioid=14017). These rave worthy products keep me brows full and groomed and at times, they are the only products I use. Even on those usual sans make-up days, my brows would be the only thing I don’t leave home without styling. I’ve said goodbye to those days of the super thin brow and said hello to the modern and bold Wow Brow.

4 Responses to “Wow Brow! Raving about Zooey Van Jones”

  1. Trrishy February 17, 2013 at 3:49 pm #

    I know what you mean!! When I was in my early teens I made my eyebrows too thin, and so I grew them out And never touched them until I was in my twenties! Now I like them thick as thieves! Lol jk All I do noe is use facial hair crème remover (monthly) around the natural shape of my brows, I also apply on my upper lip and sometimes on my baby hairs (my hair grows like wildfire on my head, esp around my hairline)! Lol I wished my lashes would grow like that. Without mascara, they look invisible! :/ Then I just use a reg brow pencil to fill my eyebrows in and define them, and go over them with a small (eyeshadow) blending brush! That brow mousse sounds interesting, something I’d like to try?
    …anyway your brows look great, and your lashes are amazingly long and full as well! 🙂

    • Sarah Frances February 17, 2013 at 9:53 pm #

      Don’t we all make mistakes when we’re young? Over plucking my brows wasn’t the only thing I shouldn’t have done, I continued to abuse my poor brows up until a few years ago. Before turning to ZVJ Brow studio, I got them threaded and the person who did them went overboard… I had to turn to products like Neubrow and Latisse to assist with regrowth in areas that were sparse. Although they are still sparse in some areas, the length of my brow hairs aren’t lacking and even with trimming, I need a little to keep them tamed and in place, which the brow mouse does. However, if I ever run out, I can always bootleg the concept with a toothbrush and some hairspray, and it’ll give them same effect. Thanks for your comment, if I had your beauty skills and eye, I would probably trust myself to maintain my brows myself. 🙂

  2. Fashion Mayann February 18, 2013 at 7:49 am #

    Thick brows are so gorgeous : I mean, did you see the fabulous Cara Delevingne on the cover of “British Vogue” ? Merci (I’m French, from Marseille) for the follow !

    • Sarah Frances February 18, 2013 at 7:42 pm #

      Yes I agree, Cara is a beauty! Her brows are gorgeous and admirable,just as Camilla Belle and Lily Collins. I have always been reading your posts, I just realized how easy it is to follow all of WordPress blogs and see posts via the Reader vs. going to each site. 🙂 Still learning… Merci for the great and original content.

Leave a Reply

