Savoring My Crazy Bunch (of Dogs)

21 Jan

puppy love

Have you ever been accused of Dog Hoarding? I’ve watched the show Hoarders, and it’s a really destructive condition, so it shouldn’t be something to joke about. Still, I have to laugh when I hear this accusation because four dogs is a lot to manage. When I walk all of my dogs, I usually hear people say, “Boy, you’ve got your hands full” or ask, “Are you a dog walker?” I usually reply, “Yes, I do” to the first statement and “No, they’re all mine.. I wish I got paid for this” for the latter. Having four dogs; however, wasn’t intentional, it sort of happened like this:

Here’s the story of a lovely lady,
Who was bringing up a little Yorkie girl,
She had hair of black and gold, and her brother,
The youngest boy’s tail curls

Here’s the story, of a man named Danny,
Who was busy with two dogs of his own,
There were three of them, living all together,
Yet they were all alone.

‘Til the one day when the lady met this fellow
And they knew it was much more than a hunch,
That this group would somehow form a family.
That’s the way we all became this Crazy Bunch.

Pictured from right to left: Yorkshire Terrier is Cocoa Bean (Yorkie Girl), (and her brother, the youngest boy) Maltese is Beau Paddington, (two dogs:) Golden Retriever is Simba Lou, and Sheltie/Collie/Corgi maybe is Sophie Girl.

9 Responses to “Savoring My Crazy Bunch (of Dogs)”

  1. me :) January 22, 2013 at 12:25 am #

    So clever and cute. I LOVE and MISS those BABIES!!!! Give them all 10 kisses each šŸ™‚

  2. thirtysomethingchic January 22, 2013 at 4:30 am #

    love your post =) I love dogs and I used to rescue them from the streets.

    • cravensavor January 22, 2013 at 5:55 pm #

      Thank you! You are amazing for rescuing dogs, there are so many that are in need of help. Sophie was found on the street, she is such a sweet dog. My boyfriend and I have also found several lost dogs and returned them to their owners. We would want some one else to do the same thing if one of ours went missing.

  3. janethesub January 22, 2013 at 6:28 am #

    My Dad gave my Mother a puppy the year after I was born – crazy as she had enough problems looking after me. But he was a lovely Golden Retriever called Pele and he became MY dog. He died when I was 17 and I have never been so distressed as I was then.
    Haven’t had one since, but Le Maitre has a pair of Alsatians called Romulus and Remus who are more guard dogs than pets. Not a childhood friend and playmate like Pele. šŸ˜¦

    • cravensavor January 22, 2013 at 5:52 pm #

      Oh Pele must have been your best friend, Goldens are lovely companions. It’s difficult for me to think about what I would do if without my dogs in my life, I would probably be beside myself if one of them died. Alsatians are gorgeous and smart dogs, they make amazing guard dogs (and pets), we call that breed German Shepherds in US. Maybe one day, you’ll be able to have a pet like Pele, but I know a relationship w/ a dog is special and can never be replaced. I still get emotion whenever I think of Lucky, my first pet dog.

      • janethesub January 22, 2013 at 6:07 pm #

        Yes, I get on fine with Romulus and Remus and they come on runs with la petite and I, and are friendly and even sloppy. (But I wouldn’t like the be an intruder when they are let out at night)
        But I can’t see any dog ever replacing darling Pele.

  4. Cat in my Bag January 22, 2013 at 12:13 pm #

    Love this post! Your doggies are all gorgeous!! xo

    • cravensavor January 22, 2013 at 6:45 pm #

      Thank you! They are my loves! They bring so much joy to life.

Leave a Reply

