Don’t Shoe Trust Me?

21 Dec

salon

From head to shoe, who do you trust?
Today I’m wearing my Black Court Pumps from Zara. There is no pair of shoes I can trust more than a basic, comfortable, black, pointed toe pump to wear to work, or playing hooky. I took a half-day and went to get my hair color retouched in the afternoon. Since I’ve definitely had more than my fair share of crying over a really bad ‘do, I learned that just as every women needs a perfect pump, she also needs a trusty stylist that won’t leave her hair looking, and in turn you feeling, sad. I get my cuts and colors at Salon De La Cruz on Green Street in Pasadena by Selene. I’ve been going to her for the last several years and I can basically vaguely describe the look I want, and she always figures out what to do to so I leave happy. She always gives the best recommendations, knows my hair history, and my maintenance preferences. She always gives it to me straight on what my hair can handle based on past treatments and keeps my hair’s health in mind. I; however, haven’t always been so lucky. Over the years I had to figure out a few things about my hair the hard way and here’s what I learned in order not experience that horrible feeling of complete helplessness.
Lesson #1: Know your hair type and texture
I always cried when my mom cut my hair as a young child. It was always short. I grew up looking like a little boy. It was a little longer in elementary school, but I guess all of those tears in my earlier years didn’t teach me much when I finally got a hair cut, from some one other than my mom, in the 6th grade. I didn’t know at the time that my hair wasn’t fine or wasn’t straight. My mom took me to the salon and let me pick the hairstyle I wanted. I browsed the look books and decided I wanted an a-line bob, longer in the front and slightly shaved in the back. After all of my hair got cut off and I could no longer hold back the tears, I learned, my hair is actually wavy curly with volume and that hairstyle did not look anything like the girl’s hair in the picture that I saw. I had to deal with short hair for what felt like an eternity. I didn’t know the first thing about straightening my hair or utilizing a blow drier. I tried to comb it down, gel it, but it always ended up looking triangular. Not a good look on me, or on any one.
Lesson #2: It’s best to keep your hair healthy
In the 8th grade, I started to experiment with highlights, then my best friend thought it would be a good idea to bleach all of my hair with her mom’s peroxide. It was actually a terrible idea. I had to wear an old navy snow hat to school the next day, buy a box of dye at the drug store, and dye my hair in the sink of the girl’s bathroom. Bleach can do some pretty irreparable damage, so as much as ombre is cool now, it really wasn’t that cool back when I was a freshman in high school.
#3 Know what hairstyles style fit your lifestyle
When I finally did learn how to manage to style my hair, or use a straightening or curling iron, I had and still maintain a relatively active lifestyle. This doesn’t allow for much time to style my hair everyday. It’s no fun leaving a pool or gym shower after a run, your hair is too short to put into a ponytail or your bangs are curling over and making you look frightful and you forgot your pins or hat in your other bag. Those of course are the only days you run into the guy you have a crush on.
Lesson #4: Leave it to a professional
Has any one asked where you got your hair cut, so that she doesn’t go there? Well, you’ll never know because she wouldn’t tell you that last part… A few years ago, I was looking through magazines and seeing all of these stars with the cutest bangs. I thought hmm, I wonder how I’d look. I get to scissors and the story just keeps getting uglier. Note to self, don’t ever cut your own bangs.
#5 Leave it to a good professional, who you trust.
When highlights were all the rage, I of course participated, but over time, my hair kept getting lighter and lighter. Then I saw a picture of myself and realized, I’m blond. After this realization, I went to the salon, and told the stylist I wanted a change, to red. After the my hair was died I looked in the mirror, I saw it was purplish, but it was wet, so I figured the color would change after my hair was dry. It didn’t really change, it was purple. I was horrified and can you believe the stylish tried to argue that it was red? I had to ask the woman beside me what the color of my hair was, like I was going to convince myself that it wasn’t purple. I asked another stylist to intervene and she did the best she could with what was already done to my hair. The aftermath of the grow out and the color fading was a nightmare to say the least. Since so much color damage was done, attempts to repair my hair were futile.

I feel like if you keep these lessons in mind, your hair will thank you. Mine did. Thanks Selene!

Leave a Reply

