Sneaker Snicker

20 Dec

snickersneaker

Do you ever feel like you just don’t get what’s so funny until way way, way later?
I am wearing my Nike Free Run +3’s, which are fabulous. I love the fun color, light weight, and comfort of the running shoe. Whenever I really like something, I usually find a way to get more of whatever it is. So, yes, I do have another pair in another color, and somehow I justified it in my mind that I NEED them both, although I have a ton of other running shoes in the shoe closet and probably could have done without either. I probably wear these running shoes the most out of the week, but maybe not as often as I’d like these days. I’ve been feeling a little sluggish and overwhelmed lately. I put these shoes on today, and I swear I heard them laughing at me. They were wondering what the hell I was doing for the last couple days without them and had to explain that I was busy. I was hosting a party, attending events, shopping for the holidays, working, and most recently blogging, which entails learning how to use a new camera and being on the computer for hours (well more than the usual hours I spend on the computer for work). I probably took more photos in the last month than I have this year, so alright, I guess I can see how my sneakers found this funny.
I started going out with Running in high school. As much as I think I dislike Running, I feel like he is the most effective cardio work out, so I don’t know if I can live without him. I actually learned this the hard way, so allow me to introduce you to Running, my boyfriend. He’s awesome because with my crazy food cravings and ability to eat more than most people I know, he keeps me healthy and in shape. I actually broke up with Running five or so years ago for a few months during a time of complete insanity, drinking way too much and partying way too hard, amongst a couple of other mistakes I can remember. Turns out that I probably gained 15 pounds during my months without him, and completely lost myself. I didn’t realize until I finally dragged my lazy ass to go the gym and discovered my feet couldn’t fit into my running shoes. I sat in my car and cried; it was devastating. There was no way I could cope with replacing all of my shoes. So, I happily got back with Running and here we are today.
So today while I was running, I heard the sneakers snickering… It took me back to some bad memories. After 3 miles, I looked at my sweaty reflection in the mirror and said to myself “you know what? This is life, sometimes, you have to learn to laugh with them, even if it’s at yourself.”

5 Responses to “Sneaker Snicker”

  1. tuesdayswithrachel December 20, 2012 at 5:29 pm #

    I LOVE IT! 🙂 My shoes laugh at me for other reasons.. because my favorite ones usually have pieces of sole missing or look homeless. 😛

  2. cravensavor December 20, 2012 at 6:12 pm #

    Haha!! They still have soul even without some sole 🙂

  3. elskenewman January 6, 2013 at 12:53 pm #

    You can never have enough running shoes! I used to go out with Running, until I messed up my knee, now we just go on an occassional short date 🙂 Happy running in 2013!

    • cravensavor January 7, 2013 at 12:29 am #

      Thank you for commenting, I agree… Well, even short dates are beneficial. It’s nice that Running is so flexible and accepts you in any shape or form 🙂 He’s the best… Happy 2013!

  4. asklotta January 12, 2013 at 6:31 pm #

    My shoes definitely speak to me! I love to run but sadly it is only on an elliptical due to a messed up knee! Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

